May + June + July 2016, in food

Three months consolidated into one post! I haven’t been making a ton of new, super interesting foods recently (have just whipping up quick things on the spot) so it’s not a particularly lengthy post for one meant to encompass three months.

FullSizeRender (10)
dairy-free nachos!
cheese sauce recipe riffed off of: http://www.seriouseats.com/recipes/2014/02/gooey-vegan-nacho-cheese-sauce-recipe-food-lab.html
notes: Surprisingly really good! All the other ingredients are the usual suspects for nachos — there’s some oven roasted and shredded chicken, diced avocado, black beans, pickled jalapenos, cilantro, etc. The dairy-free sour cream was cobbled together from many cashew sour cream recipes found online.

IMG_5739
tacos
restaurant: sancho’s
notes: The tacos were pretty good, but the best part was the SALSA BAR. I love salsa bars!

FullSizeRender (11)
chana masala
recipe: 660 Curries
notes: Thoroughly yummy. 10/10 would make again.

FullSizeRender (12)
beef gyros
recipe: http://www.food.com/recipe/ground-beef-gyros-30081
notes: This was surprisingly easy and tasted a lot like gyros! Not the most authentic recipe, but it worked. Topped it with some diced tomato, red onion, and cilantro. The “yogurt” is actually more cashew sauce that I combined with some garlic, dill, and cucumber to make into a tzatziki. A little chunkier in texture than true tzatziki sauce, but tasted great.

FullSizeRender (28)
calzone
recipe: sorta made up as I went along…
notes: This was good, but I’d make a lot of tweaks if I make calzones again. First off, would find a different dough recipe — this was a coworker’s recipe, but I wasn’t a huge fan of it, it seemed a little too tough. Filling was great though — used bacon and chicken and provolone cheese.

IMG_5729
besan ladoo
notes: Combined a bunch of recipes online. They were super dense and rich cookies! They were good, but it would be a while before I make these again.

IMG_5757
taiwanese stewed pork belly over rice
restaurant: flower pepper
notes: Very tasty! It was the best thing out of the three dishes I tried. I would order this again.

IMG_5767
lamb burritos
restaurant: angelica’s
notes: In Santa Fe. THESE WERE DELICIOUS. Very simple but also very satisfying and flavorful. 10/10 would order again.

IMG_5768
picnic cake
bakery: kim and jake’s cakes
notes: You can’t tell the scale, but this thing was quite massive! Was also gluten free. I liked it, but it’s not something I’m in a rush to buy again, especially since Kim & Jake’s is in a part of town that I’m so rarely in.

IMG_5815
five spice cookies

recipe: https://lovinfromtheoven.wordpress.com/recipes/5spice/
notes: I have a very special place in my heart for Dreena Burton’s cookie recipes — they were the very first vegan desserts I ever made, and the first true success that I had with making baked goods, way back in 2008. I’ve always liked these cookies because they’re pretty simple to make but have an interesting and complex (but familiar) flavor.

IMG_5836
peanut butter cupcakes with chocolate ganache

recipe: Vegan Cupcakes Take Over The World
notes: I subbed GF flour for the all purpose but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. They were good, but not something I’m in a hurry to make again. My favorite thing about the picture is that Andy is looking very happy in the background because he thinks I’m holding up a peanut butter cupcake treat for him…

IMG_5913
fresh strawberry pie
recipes for inspiration:
http://glutenfreefix.com/fresh-strawberry-pie/
http://glutenfreefix.com/easy-graham-cracker-crust/1721/

No-Bake Vegan Strawberry Pie

Gluten Free Strawberry Pie with Almond Crust

notes: This might be the best fruit pie I’ve made! The graham cracker crust was quite good (and very thick in places, which made it like a cookie) and the strawberry flavor was very fresh and clean. I looked at a bunch of different fresh strawberry pie recipes online and kinda made things up as I went.

IMG_5914
sushi
restaurant: sushi train
notes: All-you-can-eat sushi. What’s not to like?

FullSizeRender (29)
beef bowl with crisp creens, coconut sweet potatoes, spicy coconut sauce, farofa, and spicy chimichurri sauce

restaurant: five on black
notes: So, this restaurant is like a Brazilian version of Chipotle… which is not a bad thing! My favorite component of this bowl was the coconut sweet potato stuff… very good.

Leave a Reply

